Phyllis Kulmatiski

December 4, 2013 § Leave a comment

I have been creating figurative clay work for over twenty five years. My work has been shown in New York city, the Hudson Valley, Massachusetts, and Vermont. it has been selected many times for the Mohawk Hudson regional, winning several juror awards there. I have also received juror awards at Southern Vermont Art Center and Albany Center Gallery. I have been included in the Contemporary Sculpture at Chesterwood outdoor show several times and have had the honor of demonstrating my building technique there twice, on the porch of Daniel Chester French’s studio, where he created the Lincoln Memorial. My work has been purchased by the Schenectady Museum and the Albany Institute of History and Art.

I was born in Greenpoint Brooklyn, New York and attended a Polish catholic school where I bumped into statues around every corner. The spiritual energy of those strange figures haunts me still. I attended SUNY New Paltz during the Viet Nam era. Slogans and protests became part of my artistic vocabulary. In my work I try to combine the power and beauty of Romanesque and medieval art with contemporary political and social statements.

I taught art in Scotia Glenville High School for twenty five years and now work full time on sculpture in my Scotia studio. I build the pieces from clay from the bottom up, scratch, carve and color them with engobes. I fire them to a stoneware temperature so they are suitable for indoor or outdoor display.

click image to enlarge

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Phyllis Kulmatiski at oakroom artists.

meta

